Smoking Laws in Las Vegas
Penalties for Nevada "no smoking" laws
Penalties for Nevada “no smoking” laws
Smoking in a non-smoking area is a misdemeanor in Nevada The sentence is up to $1,000 and/or 6 months in jail. Furthermore, defendants are liable for a $100 civil penalty for each violation.
Similarly, it’s a misdemeanor in Nevada for an employee of a smoking-friendly age-restricted bar to allow a person under twenty-one to loiter on the premises. The sentence is up to $1,000 and/or up to 6 months in jail. In addition, defendants face the following civil penalties:
$1,000 for a first offense, or
$2,000 for a second or subsequent offense
Note that it’s extremely rare for a judge to impose jail time for smoking crimes, especially for a first-time offender.
Smoking Laws in Las Vegas
Las Vegas, also known as Sin City, is the perfect place to escape from your daily life and become reckless. However, not even Sin City is without its laws, as many tourists quickly find when they get a hefty fine for doing things that seem normal, such as smoking, in forbidden places. If you are planning to travel to Las Vegas, you should know the laws associated with smoking.
The laws are not extremely strict: as long as you are outside and not on school property, you can smoke tobacco. You are also allowed to smoke tobacco inside casinos, but only in the areas in which children are not allowed, meaning near game tables and slot machines.
It is also permitted to smoke inside brothels, strip clubs, private residences (as long as they are not used as health or child care facilities), age-restricted bars and completely enclosed areas within bars, and certain trade shows, as long as the trade shows are not open to public, and involve tobacco products.
Besides the above-mentioned areas, you are not allowed to smoke in any other closed areas. Keep in mind that you are only allowed to smoke tobacco, as marijuana and other substances are forbidden.
You should also know that the government can deem certain in-door areas “smoke-free”, even if the law would normally deem them to be okay for smoking, so keep a lookout for any signs before lighting a cigarette.
If you do get caught lighting a cigarette in a forbidden area, you will probably just be asked to leave the premises.
However, if the act is repeated, you can be fined $1000 for a first time offense, and $2000 for a subsequent offense.
You may also have to pay a $100 civil penalty for each violation of the law.
Besides the previously-mentioned fines, subsequent offenders may even face jail time.
However, it is an extremely rare case, and depending on your lawyer, it can be easy to dismiss the charge if you find yourself facing jail time.
If you are planning on working in a bar, it is also imperious to know that employees of bars cannot let people under 21 loiter in smoking areas, even if the persons look 21 or older.
This is everything you need to know about smoking in Las Vegas. As long as you follow these laws, the only money you will be losing is the money you spend at the casino.